Today my family and I got some pretty upsetting news. News that made me sad, mad, scared… Made me question people. Then, like often happens in troubling times, I realized there was nothing I could do about it in this exact moment. That realization is usually followed by worrying about it and the inability to stop thinking about the situation. Problem with worrying is it only causes you more stress and gives you no real security or hope. So, what’s better than worrying? Realizing there is something you can do. You can pray and give it all up to God.

This is the normal cycle that I usually go through when bad things happen. As much as I know I need not worry, inevitably, the worry comes. I figure I’m not alone in this, so I decided to look up some Bible verses about worrying and hope and share them with you.

First, one of my favorites:

“I can do all things, through Christ who gives me strength.” Philipians 4:13

“Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run, not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaish 40:31

When I read that I picture myself high above the earth, flying on the back of a giant eagle, soaring through the sky, carefree and happy. I see those who are in pain and those who cannot walk on Earth walking in the Heavens with God.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” Psalm 55:22

“Truly He is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.”
Psalm 62:6

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Phil 4:6-7

“Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”  Psalm 25:5

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matt 11:28-30

“They will have no fear of bad news;  their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORD.”  Psalm 112:7

bibleerse bibleverse2

bibleverse1

 “Hope is being able to see that there is light despite all the darkness.” Desmond Tutu

So, I go to bed not with a heavy heart but with a heart fully relying on my Father in Heaven. Remember: If God brings you to it, He’ll bring you through it.

Goodnight and God Bless

