My family loves breakfast burritos, but when there’s 6 people to feed I don’t always feel like rolling a dozen or more burritos. Usually I just mix everything in one big pot, toss some tortillas on a plate and let everyone roll their own. When I decided on breakfast for dinner tonight I wanted to do something a little different. Ok, maybe I didn’t want to, but my neice is here and she wanted a Pinterest meal. I didn’t have time to make what she requested so I set out to make my boring breakfast burritos a dish worth pinning, and so, here is my recipe for deconstructed breakfast burritos.

INGREDIENTS:
Potatoes
Eggs
Sausage (or Chorizo)
Cheese
Coconut Oil
Tortillas

I like to get my potatoes on first because I like them to be crispy which can take awhile. I put a spoonful of coconut oil* on to heat up while I chopped up 2 extra large potatoes. Once chopped, I placed them in the hot coconut oil and seasoned them with salt, pepper and paprika. Once the potatoes are started, I fry my meat. I used 1 1/2 pounds of ground pork sausage tonight because it’s what I had on hand, but this dish would be delicious with chorizo. Once the sausage is almost cooked, I place it in a strainer to drain off the grease, then, I put my eggs into the pan I used for the sausage so I can cook them in the sausage grease. I used nine eggs, but, keep in mind I’m cooking for 6 people. I don’t mix my eggs first, I just toss them in the pan. No reason other than one less dish to clean later. As the eggs are cooking, I add salt, pepper and paprika followed by shredded cheddar cheese (about two handfuls). Don’t forget about that potatoes…

image

*You can use any oil or even butter, but I’ve found coconut oil gives the best crisp on the outside.
When the eggs are almost cooked (still partially runny) I put the sausage back in the pan, mix it in and cook the mixture til done.

image

When it’s done, I melt another couple handfuls on cheese on top.  Usually, I would stop here, but this wasn’t a Pinterest dish quite yet, so, what did I do?  Fried eggs of’course. Fried eggs make everything better. I put the eggs and sausage on The oats,  followed by the potatoes, an little hot sauce and then topped each plate with a perfectly runny fried egg. I heated some tortillas and we ripped those up and used them to scoop up our food instead of forks. The runny egg made this dish even better. Yum.

image

image

So good and so easy. Best part is you can make extra, wrap it and freeze the burritos.

