After a long couple of days, two sick kids and five loads of laundry, the last thing I wanted to was cook dinner. But, since takeout and pizza cost money I didn’t wanna spend, dinner had to be made. We’re trying to get rid of all the hamburger in our freezer before we start eating our healthy meals, so another ground beef dish it was. What’s easy, cheap and goes with hamburg? Mac & Cheese! But, burgers and mac & cheese is so plain, so, I like to make a casserole out of mine. It’s the perfect dish for families, easy for parents and yummy for the kids (and the adults).

Ingredients:
ground beef
macaroni and cheese
shredded cheese
milk
sour cream
butter coconut oil
greek yogurt (optional)
something crispy, like chips or bread crumbs
spices

Set oven to 350 degrees.  Cook meat with choice of spices.  I use salt, pepper, chili powder and cayenne pepper (we like our heat). Cook noodles im boiling water. I used 2 lbs of burger and 3 boxes of mac & cheese, but you could use less (any more and it won’t fit in a casserole dish unless its huge, in used a 13×9 and it was filled to the top). Drain noodles, prepare as directed but add sour cream to make it creamier. This time, I used coconut oil instead of butter because I was out of butter. I also used less sour cream and added greek yogurt because I have a big container that’s about to expire and I didn’t wanna waste it. Besides, might as well add a little healthy to this not so healthy dish. Drain meat and mix that in with the mac & cheese. Add shredded cheese of choice, I used a half pound of mozzarella,  a half pound of cheddar and a half pound of pepper jack. Thus, the cheesy added before the cheeseburger in the recipe name, this was oozing cheesy goodness. Add a little more milk so the casserole doesn’t get dry while baking. Spread mixture into greased casserole dish, tile with shredded cheese and something crispy (I used crushed Cheese and Sour Cream Chips). Bake for ten minutes. Optional: Place under broiler for 2 mins to get an extra crispy top. Let cool for 5 minutes and enjoy. We like to top ours with various things from hot sauce and sour cream to ketchup.

image

image

image

Happy Eating,
Deana

