How do you define passion? Is it emotional? Is it sexual? Merriam Webster’s Dictionary defines passion as

a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something

I’m currently taking a Bible study by Jennie Allen called Restless. Last night our focus was on passion. The study asks lots of questions to help you figure out what your passions are. Questions like, what need do you see around you, when have you seen need that made your heart race and when do you remember meeting a need that helped your heart race?

image

When I first answered the questions, my thoughts went to causes close to my heart like homelessness and mental disease healthcare. But, after watching Jennie talk and coming home and putting my kids to bed, I started thinking about their needs and I realized I need to become passionate about my kids. Listening to my friends and reading some posts on here, I feel like I’m not the only one. Our children need us. Our children need us so greatly, it should make our hearts race. When we meet our children’s needs, it should mange our hearts race.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day and see things like homework and our kids busy schedules as tiring and sometimes even a nuisance. We can often get busy and either intentionally or non-intentionally ignore our kids. I know for me as a stay-at-home-mom there are times when I don’t want to help with homework or I’ve finally gotten a minute to myself and I’d rather pretend I didn’t hear what one of my children just asked me. I think this is because too often we, especially us sahms, see parenting as our job. And while this is in many ways true, being a parent needs to become more than a job. Mom or Dad needs to become more than a role we play. God made each of us parents to the children we parent because it is what h
He intended for our lives. God doesn’t want us to just simply live our lives, he wants us to live our lives passionately. So let’s start parenting passionately. Let’s become passionate about our children.

image

Make your children your main focus. When your spending time with your children, spend time with your children! Put down your phone, step away from the tablet and turn off the tv. Texting, Facebook and Netflix will all still be there later. If you give your kids 100% of your focuse when your spending time together, you’ll realize you are passionate about them.

Turn homework time from a task into a a passion for your childs future. Sure, homework may seem mundane, but when we help our kids with their homework with because we want to and not because we have to, they will see the difference. If it’s important to us, it will become important to our kids.

If your kid has something to say, stop and listen.

If your child has a question, answer it, then and there. If you don’t know the answer, find it.

If your child comes to you with a problem, no matter how big or small it seems to you, treat that problem like it’s the most important problem in the world, because to them, it just may be.

Stop thinking of parenting as your job and start making it your passion! It won’t always be easy, but it will be worth it, for you and your kids!

