image

In church a couple Sundays ago we talked about judgement. Our pastor brought up Christians judging the actions of non-believers, in particular focusing on the choices of some in Hollywood. He compared it to judging a blind person, saying we can’t judge non-believers as if they were Christians because they are blind to the rules of God.

After church, my husband and I discussed the sermon and found we somewhat disagreed. My husband said regardless of your beliefs, people know right from wrong. I don’t deny that this is true, but I also understand where my pastor was coming from. Do non-believers know right from wrong? By adult age, I’d like to think so. Does that mean it’s ok for us to judge their choices? I don’t believe so.

When it comes to Christians judging non-believers, this is my opinion. We, as Christians cannot hold those who don’t share our beliefs to the same standards as we hold ourselves. What is right or wrong to a non-believer isn’t necessarily the same as what is right or wrong to us. For example, a friend of mine said, if she had a friend who was a non-believer that asked her opinion on moving in with her boyfriend, she wouldn’t hold that person to the same standard as a Christian friend who asked the same advice. I think that’s quite logical.

I don’t expect my non-Christian friends to follow the same rules as I do, but at the same time, I don’t think it’s my place to judge my Christian friends if they make choices I don’t feel are Christian like. Maybe in a way I’m wrong for this, I’ve been told as a Christian that I’m supposed to help lead my brothers and sisters in Christ on the right path. But, I think it’s possible to walk with and lead believers and non-believers alike without judging them.

I also think that how one is raised plays a big part in how they view judgement as an adult. For example, I was raised to believe that judgment is reserved for God and to always forgive others regardless of how badly they may have hurt you. My husband, on the other hand, was raised to believe in “an eye for an eye.” This plays a huge part in how we view certain situations and how we deal with other people.

image

To me, the rule I follow about passing judgment is quite simple…DON’T JUDGE, JUST DON’T DO IT!

If what another person is doing isn’t physically causing you harm, then let it go, it’s not really hurting you.

Does the color of a persons skin cause you harm? Does a persons sexual orientation hurt you? Does what someone wears harm you physically? Does a persons political beliefs hurt you? Nope. None of those things really, truly affect you. You might think they do. Emotionally maybe you’re even right, but that’s something you allow to happen. Physically though, they aren’t hurting you. So, why judge them? Just let it go.

We were not put in this Earth to judge other people, we were put here to love them, regardless of who they are. God calls us to love.

image

image

image

In Him,
Deana

