My friend and I were exchanging recipes last night and she sent me one that was similar to something I make. So, I decided to blend hers with mine, add a couple be ingredients because I had them and I could and I ended up with a simple and delicious meal.

Ingredients:
Chicken Breast
Diced Tomatoes (canned)
Tomato Paste
Spinach
Cheese
Fresh Garlic
Italian Seasoning
Salt & Pepper
*Sugar
*Jalapeno
*Lemon Zest
How much of each is up to you, I don’t measure, I just cook and taste.

Saute chicken in oil of choice, add garlic and season to taste, when chicken is almost dinner, add spinach. Finish cooking. Add tomatoes. Add tomato paste (this isn’t necessary but my family likes their sauce thick). I thought it could use a kick so I added some jalapeno peppers I happened to have. That made it a little too spicy for my picky daughter so I tossed in she sugar and a bit of lemon zest to sweeten it up while still highlighting the spice. Add cheese of your choice.Turn the chicken on low and allow to simmer. While your waiting, maybe some pasta or rice to put the chicken over.
*Note, the extra saute time isn’t necessary, I just like to let the sauce thicken and it makes the chicken extra tender.

image

image

image

The result? A delicious meal that is a mixture of sweet and spicy in every bite. And it’s healthy too (well maybe not the pasta).

