Bacon! Everybody loves bacon. Ok, not everybody, but I happen to think bacon is delicious. However, making bacon, not so delicious. To me the perfect bacon is fully cooked (no white fat) chewy, yet firm with just a touch of crisp when you bite into it.

Unfortunately, for years, I’ve never been and to achieve bacon perfection. My mom taught me the microwave method, we even had these cool little grooved bacon trays. But, it’s hard to get the perfect bacon from the microwave, and it takes forever. Cook. Check. Cook. Check. Then, your left with either too chewy or too crispy bacon and a big, greasy mess a to clean up. My grandma swears by the pan cook method. That has never worked for me. I always get it too crispy. Then my friend introduced me to “oven bacon.” Recipes can be found all over Pinterest now for oven bacon, but I’ve been perfecting my recipe since before Pinterest was Pinteresting.

Preheat your oven to 300 degrees. I’ve tried every temperature from 200 to 450 and 300 is the magic number. Place your bacon on a cookie sheet. It’s ok to overlap. Put in in the oven and set the timer for twenty minutes. Halfway through the time tame the tray out and drain off the extra grease. Continue cooking for the remaining time. Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes. Pat grease off with napkin. And serve up your bacon perfection.

image

image

image

image

P.S. I also figured out coconut oil cooks amazing fried potatoes really quckly. Yum.

