Before you get mad, I said I don’t get it, not that I don’t like feminist, just that I don’t get feminism.

My niece, Joan, as in Joan Rivers, my very own Fashion PoliceWoman, has been talking about feminism lately. She’s 14. The other day we were at the park and I told my toddler, who was afraid to go down the slide because it was dirty, “you’re a boy, you’re supposed to get dirty” to which Joan replied, “that’s sexist!”

I asked her if she was a feminist now and she started telling me about the feminist at her school, complete with hairy armpits and all. She wanted to know what hairy pits had to do with it.

I guess I get it, if men aren’t expected to shave their armpits then women shouldn’t be either. Is that the idea? Well I think we should just all shave everything, not because of equal rights or anything like that, but simply because body hair is really gross. Besides, I’ve gone a few lazy weeks without shaving and not only did it look gross, it was itchy as crap.

Anyways, the body hair is really beside the point of what I don’t get. The this I don’t get are based on feminist I’ve met.

So I know this guy who works with several women who are feminist. And here’s the thing that confuses me. These women are all “women can do anything a man can do” but then something comes up that they can’t do and who’s the first person they call? The guy I know. And he’s not just any man, he’s the manliest man in the workplace. So, these women live for, women and men are equal, but then when something is too heavy for them or they can’t reach the light bulb, “Mr. Man, you’re stronger than me, please help me do this thing I can’t do without your help.”

I know that not all feminist are extreme feminist. Not all women “free bleed” and claim “fart rape” but, those are the ones who have ruined my understanding of what feminism is.

I mean, I get the whole equality thing. But, I don’t get what this has to do with not shaving our armpits or believing that we can do everything a man can do had to do with equal rights.

There are just some things a woman isn’t meant to do. Like pee standing up or impregnate someone.

God made man. God made woman. He made us the same, yet he also made us different. He gave us different roles. And I’m ok with that.

I’m not saying feminism is wrong, I just don’t get it and it’s not for me.

I’m perfectly happy being a hair free, stay at home mom, who’s husband supports the family while she cooks and cleans. I’ll stick with letting my husband be our main decision maker and the disciplinarian. It may be old fashioned, but I like our traditional family roles. And that doesn’t make me an anti-feminist, or a weak woman. Just someone who has found what works for her family, it may be a little bit, Leave it to Beaver, but I’ll take my ruffled apron over hairy pits any day.

