We celebrated my birthday today, along with my nieces and her Grandma’s at Chang’s Mongolian Grill. It’s one of those places where you pick your meat and veggies and the chefs cook it on a big cook top in the middle if the restaurant. One of my favorite places, good food and the ability to eat healthy. I had lamb, beef and chicken with lots of veggies and spices. It was delicious. Even more delicious was the amazing, not diet busting cheesecake my grandma made for me.

image

I love dark chocolate and I love cheesecake. Unfortunately, I don’t love how I feel after a diet cheat day, especially since I already did that yesterday with my chicken parm birthday dinner. Lucky for me, my grandma is in town visiting and said she’d make me whatever I wanted. I’m not big on cake, so I set out to find a healthy(ish) option.
image

I found it here at Sally’s Baking Addiction (her picture is way prettier than mine) and at only 128 calories per bar & and crazy low sugar content, I’m still amazed at how delicious these Skinny (Dark) Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars are.

I had my grandma tweek the recipe a bit. We used coconut oil instead of butter for the graham cracker crust and dark chocolate chips, not necessarily to make it healthier but because I like dark chocolate chips better and I have copious amounts of coconut oil taking up space around my house.

These bars are so good. And with the low calories, barely there sugar content and protein (I need to calculate how much) , it almost doesn’t count as a cheat treat.

Make sure you check it the website for this recipe and others.

