One day, Heaven will come down and meet Earth and on that day, every person will be seen for what is in their hearts, and that day will be perfect, because that is what is meant to be.

Unfortunately, until that day comes, we live in a world that is broken in which people are all too often judged by what is seen on the outside. I was talking to a friend today about people being judgmental towards her based on her weight. It breaks my heart to see beautiful women made to feel ugly and ashamed because someone else isn’t comfortable with the way they look.

 

Put a skinny girl on the cover of a magazine and we’re setting an unrealistic image for women. Put a big girl on the cover of a magazine and we’re encourage women to be overweight. To me, that sounds like a bunch of nonsense and garbage. About as much garbage as it is that we, as women, are our own worst enemies. In a time where feminism is running strong and women are fighting to be treated as equals to men, it’s us as women who are making other women feel bad about the way they look.

I’m a skinny fat, I’ve got a small frame with a chubby belly because it’s the only place I gain weight. I’ve recently started working out and I can tell you this, it has been only women who have attempted to make me feel bad about my decision to become healthier. Just as it has always been women who have attempted to shame my body. Newsflash women – if we want men to respect our bodies we should probably start by respecting each others.

One of the most beautiful things about women is that we come in all different shapes, sizes and colors, each one of unique and special in our own wonderful way. How we choose to dress our shapes, how we choose to mold are shapes, that is up to each of us and is for nobody else to decide. How I look doesn’t affect you and how you look doesn’t affect me. As women, we need to love and respect that other women are who they are and we need to encourage one another to be who we are with no apologies. What matters is that you are happy with yourself and your body.

Ladies, surround yourself with people who don’t just accept you for who you are, surround yourself with people who celebrate who you are. Surround yourself with people who will encourage you to be you, unapologetically.

