I know a lot of you out there are sad tonight.

I’m sad too, though it’s probably for different reasons.

I’m sad because today is Veterans Day. We have so many men and women who have fought for this country, for our country. We are America. The land of the free. To me, it is a privilege to live here and I am deeply saddened when I hear someone say they want to move out of the country because they aren’t happy with our President elect. You want to leave the country that gives you the right to do what so many of you are doing right, peacefully protesting? I’m sorry you’re sad. I understand that you’re angry. But, we are privileged to live here, we are free to live here and nobody is forcing you to stay. Today, more than ever, our veterans deserve to hear the words, thank you, not America is no longer good enough.

I’m sad because while I respect the rights our First Amendment gives us to speak freely and hold peaceful, lawful protest, much of what I am seeing around America is a far cry from peaceful. These riots are spreading hate and causing fear, the very things protesters are saying they are fighting against. I want everyone to feel like their voices are being heard, but I also don’t want to be scared to travel to certain parts of my state. I don’t want to spend nights waiting for my husband to come home to our family because his path home is being blocked.

I am sad because I have so much more to say but I a typing this with tears in my eyes because I am so sad for America and I don’t want to be, yet tonight, I cry.

