In the weeks since the election I have been called many things. I’ve been called racist, homophobic and sexist. I’ve been told I am contributing to rape culture and that I have no respect for myself as a woman. I’ve been called an ignorant, uneducated gun loving hick. I’ve been told I hate Muslims and I’m anti-Religious. I’ve been told that I don’t love my country and I don’t care about people. I’ve been told that in general, I’m a judgmental, bad person who is filled with nothing but hate. And, I’ve lost friends. All because I filled in the box next to Donald Trump’s name and made the choice to be vocal about that choice because I refuse to allow others to shame me for making the choice I believe was right for my family and our country. I do not believe I am any of the things I’ve been called lately and while I tell you why at the end of this post. Fist, I have decided to share with you some of my political views. You can feel free to judge me based on these, I don’t mind…

I am gun rights and pro conceal carry. I believe in the rights of every legal citizen of the United States (given they are legally allowed to own a gun) to own, use and conceal carry guns. I am also pro gun control and I believe that we need stricter gun laws, including tighter background checks, closing the loophole and requiring each person who purchases a gun to take and pass a gun safety course, similar driver’s license requirements. Finally, I do not believe in gun free zones.

I am pro first amendment. I believe that our soldiers and veterans have fought and continue to fight for our freedoms and that freedom is one of the things that make America the great country it is. I support the rights to speak freely, protest peacefully and for each and every person to feel safe in expressing their own opinions. I personally believe in standing for the National Anthem, saying the Pledge of Allegiance and respecting our flag, however, this is a free country and while I don’t agree with the choice, I don’t believe in taking away the rights of Americans to sit for the anthem or disrespect our flag.

I am pro border control. I do support legal immigration into the United States, from any country, however, we do need to take the proper steps to ensure that those immigrating are doing so legally and have been properly vetted, including criminal background and terror watch list checks. I do support deporting illegal immigrants who have felony records, records for crimes involving; drug distribution, sex or domestic violence, and any who are now or have ever been on the terror watch list.

I am pro military and believe that sometime war is necessary. Regardless of the reason we go to war, I will always 100% support  our troops and our veterans.

I support tax reform. I believe our government needs to help rebuild the middle class.

I am anti Obama care. I do believe in healthcare reform, however, our current healthcare system is not working.

I am pro welfare system reform. I believe in helping those who truly need help and are unable to work, but I do not feel my tax dollars should go to support able-bodied individuals who simply do not want to work.

By now, you’re probably thinking I must be a Republican. However I don’t consider myself Republican or Democrat, right wing or left wing, conservative or liberal. I do have some conservative beliefs, yet, particularly when it comes to people, I tend to be more liberal.

I am personally pro-life, however, I support Roe v Wade and politically, I am pro-choice. I do believe that there needs to be restrictions on abortion, making it illegal after the first trimester and limiting late term abortions to instances of death of the mother. Outside of those restrictions, I believe that abortion is a personal choice and not a political one and I hope one day our government will realize this. I do think that many of our pro-life politicians have their hearts in the right places, but, it’s just not a choice for them to make for others based on their personal or religious beliefs.

I am pro LGBTQ rights. I support your right to have children, marry who you want and to use the restroom of your choice. Love is love.

Those are the big things, feel free to ask about anything else. Now, to respond to the judgment that’s been passed on me (and many other Trump supporters).

I’m not a racist. I don’t care what you look like or what color your skin is. I believe God created all people and that all lives matter.

I’m not homophobic. Like I said above, I’m pro gay rights. Love is love.

I’m not a sexist. I believe that God created men and women equal.

I don’t beleive that I contributed to rape culture by voting for Donald Trump. I’m also not offended by “locker room talk.” I do not believe that means I don’t respect myself as a woman any more than the fact that I didn’t vote for Hillary does. I am proud to be a woman, God’s beautiful bride.

 I’m not ignorant and uneducated. Also, I take no offense to being called a gun loving hick. 
I don’t hate any religion. I am a Christian. You are free to believe in whatever you want to believe in and worship however you want. That being said, I don’t believe it is ever ok to use your religion as an excuse to hurt anyone.

I shouldn’t have to tell anyone how much I love America at this point.

Or how much I love all people. As a Christian, I beleive the greatest thing God calls us to do is love. And love I do – regardless of race, religion, gender, politics, beleifs, opinions or whether or not you agree with me. And I like to think that makes me a good person regardless of who I voted for. 

